Wake up in the morning feeling like P Diddy

I discovered my love for art in middle school; I took every art class possible throughout high school and spent a lot of my free periods in the art room. So, naturally when I went to college I knew that art was something I still wanted to pursue and made it my minor. I took several art history classes as well as an array of studio art classes, including drawing, jewelry and metals, photography, and my favorite, painting. Well, it was my favorite until my last semester of college. I transferred schools after my sophomore year, so my senior year painting professor was someone I hadn’t previously had, and he made me absolutely hate painting. Painting used to be an outlet for me, something I did in order to relax, zone out, and just be by myself. My professor was someone who wanted pieces to be done the way he would like them I guess. It seemed like everything I did was wrong, bad, horrible, could be better. And everything everyone else did (including smearing paint across a canvas) was beautiful, let’s hang this in the gallery. The more negative comments I heard, the worse my paintings became because I didn’t want to put anything into them anymore. I believe that artwork is something that is personal to people, and there are ways to give constructive criticism, even if it’s not a particular style of art that you are drawn to. Since that class I have tried, and failed, to pick up a brush and paint. The voice that says you’re no good still hangs in the back of my mind.

The reason that I’m writing about this is because being unemployed is a good time to start a new hobby or go back to an old one; make unemployment more like funemployment! I just read an article on this topic, it’s actually from 2009, but is still pretty relevant. In it, they define funemployment as “A period of joblessness that you actually enjoy β€” maybe you get to lay out, sleep in, work out, read up. It helps to have savings, severance, or an unemployment check to help pay the bills. We’re hearing this word used more and more, especially as people realize they may not be able to find a new job right away, so they might as well try to enjoy the time off.” I also found a book, Turn Unemployment into Funemployment by Stephen Bernier, for more ideas on hobbies to take up while unemployed.

While I began writing my blog in order to document, complain, talk about, and get in touch with other people who are also jobless post graduation, I don’t want to write post after post complaining about the way things are and how I don’t have a job, yet, who wants to read a bunch of complaining?? Hopefully a job will come along soon, but in the meantime, I need to keep myself sane. Having a job gives you structure to your day, which is something that everyone really needs. In the months since my graduation, I’m proud to say that I have kept more of a schedule than I probably did while I was in college. I get myself up every morning around 7 AM, eat breakfast, work out, and then figure out what I want to do with my day. I really don’t want to plop myself down in front of the TV for hours on end. I’ve been thinking about trying to paint again, but I’m kind of afraid that I can’t do it anymore. Instead of leaping back into it, I decided to take a walk outside today, breath in some fresh air, and take pictures, which I posted for you all to check out! Hopefully I will regain my artiste confidence soon – any suggestions??

5 thoughts on “Wake up in the morning feeling like P Diddy

  1. Great post! Obviously, I’m in exactly the same situation. Art is a great hobby although it can end up on the expensive side depending on what kind of art it is lol. I love these ideas though πŸ™‚

  2. Your post breaks my heart and makes me want to break your teacher’s neck! I had a BAD math experience with a teacher, and it took me over twenty years to realize I could do math. Don’t wait that long. Julia Child’s teacher told her she couldn’t cook. Walt Disney was fired from one of his first jobs because he “lacked imagination”. To get started, get your canvas out and write words that come to mind in whatever color you want, such as “my teacher is an idiot”. Then paint over them. It is just for you, so don’t worry what it looks like. Do this as much as you can, and your natural style will start to come through again. Have faith in yourself.

  3. Pingback: The capacity for growth |

Leave a Reply

