You’re no one if you’re not on Twitter

This week in my LinkedIn Top Headlines in Public Relations and Communications email was an article about How Twitter can get you a Job. I know that I’ve talked before about how I don’t really like Twitter, and guess what, I still really don’t. I think it’s really just because I don’t think that that many of my friends have Twitters. And I feel like Twitter is maybe for those people who like to post way too much stuff about nothing. Every time I get on my Twitter, I just have nothing to say, that will fit in 140 characters or less anyway.

Well, what story was number 1, you may ask? A story about how 45% of Companies Use Twitter to Find Employees, of course. It’s complete with a colorful infograph, and who doesn’t love those?

There’s some interesting information on there, like how 1 in 3 employers decided not to hire someone based on their Facebook. I think that it’s really, kind of awkward that someone sits in an office and tries to creep around on Facebook to find you and judge you, and then not hire you. Most people, I think, use their privacy settings to block unwanted people from viewing at their pages, like ex-boyfriends and people that you’ve decided you don’t want knowing what’s going on in your life anymore, and your professors, and maybe your mom if you’re mean, and oh, the person who you’re asking to hire you. Either way, the infograph also says that 1 in 5 employers use social networking sites to research job candidates, so, I guess make sure you update your Twitter so that everyone knows that you’re still #unemployed.

I had to look around on Twitter to see what people had to say about being #unemployed and I found out that you don’t just have to randomly harass people on your own (like the girl I talked about here), Twitter now has their very own job search called TweetMyJOBS.com. I decided to check it out, of course. Basically, it gives you some “Twitter job channels” that you can follow and then you’ll be notified of new jobs, directly to your Twitter account! Maybe I’ll follow some and see what happens.

Other things I found via Twitter that made me giggle a little bit:
I haven’t washed my hair in three days and, by Gum, I don’t think it’s ever looked better. #unemployment
There’s only so much more late-afternoon Law and Order I can watch with my mom #unemployment
Why celebrate Beyonce’s pregnancy? I sat on a couch for 9 months getting fat, and y’all didn’t put me on the cover of People. #unemployment
Nothing like a little Motion City Soundtrack to take me back to those days when I wasn’t supposed to have a job anyway. #unemployment



[Side Note: In case you haven’t noticed, I choose my blog titles from song lyrics. Genius. Today’s heading is from Ben Walker’s Twitter Song. I didn’t think I’d find a song about Twitter, but by golly, I did! Thanks Ben!]

Leave a Reply

